Library Service Safari #1


photo by ...love Maegan via Flickr

photo by …love Maegan via Flickr

 

The way the week worked out, I was not able to do an actual library service safari, so these are simulated safaris based on previous experiences.

  1. What was the goal of this service and was it met?
  2. Was this experience overall positive or negative?
  3. What was good about the service?
  4. What detracted from the experience?
  5. With whom did you interact?
  6. Were you confused at any time during the experience?
  7. Describe the physical space.
  8. Describe the customer service.

The way the week worked out, I was not able to do an actual library service safari, so these are simulated safaris based on previous experiences.

Paying My Library Fee Safari

No matter how often we tell our students the policy on lost books, they still seem uncertain what to do.  So, I’m simulating what it would be like to have a lost book fee to pay.  Generally it is a negative experience, but requesting feedback using a service safari worksheet would be a great way to make it less unpleasant.

1.  What was the goal of this service and was it met?

I lost my library book and needed to pay for it.  Yes, I paid my bill.

2.  Was this experience overall positive or negative?

Mostly negative, except for the bookmark the librarian gave me.

3.  What was good about the service?

I got a receipt to show I paid for the book.

4.  What detracted from the experience?

I wasn’t sure when I would be able to pay for the book.

5.  With whom did you interact?

The school librarian.

6.  Were you confused at any time during the experience?

I wasn’t sure where to go to pay for the lost book or who to talk to about it.  The secretary told me to check the library.  I wondered what happens if I find the book, but the librarian told me I’ll get a refund if it’s found.

7.  Describe the physical space.

The school library has a long front counter with a computer that the librarian sits behind.

8.  Describe the customer service.

I didn’t know I lost a book until I got an email notice for it.  I thought I turned it in, but the librarian and I didn’t find it in the library when we checked the library shelves.  I had to look for the librarian so I could pay my fee, but when I found her, I was able to pay and get a receipt.  She gave me a bookmark for paying for the book I lost.

See Service Safari Worksheet 2 for the rest of the assignment.

