Confusing Signage


On a recent trip from Albuquerque, NM, I spotted a sign that had me confused.  I was going through security and chose the shortest line for the TSA screening, when I noticed a sign while heading towards it.  It was a tall rectangular sign with lots of words on it, but in large bold words it said something like “Passengers 75 and Older.”  A guard saw me looking at it and in anticipation of my questions said, “Read the whole thing,” but the lettering was too small so I was going to confirm that it was okay for me to get in this line…he broke eye contact and repeated what he said, so I looked around and ahead for confirmation that I was okay.  Upon seeing that the line was empty, I went on ahead.  It turned out the sign was to inform people 75 and older that they got special treatment during the screening process.

The guard seemed to shake his head and it occurred to me that this must have happened many times.  I wanted to defend my intelligence and say that it wasn’t me, it was the way the sign was designed, but my courage failed me.  I thought to share it will all of you because it illustrated how easily design flaws interrupt our lives…that guard is going to be shaking his head a lot as people continue to think they are in the wrong line.

I wish I tsa.signtook a photo of it, but I’m not so sure the guard would have been agreeable to that.  The sign had similar verbiage to this, but the emphasis was on “Passengers 75 and Older” and the explanation was in smaller font that was hard to read until you were close enough to be uncomfortable about being in the wrong place…

 

 

 

 

 

…unlike this sign where the emphasis is on the year 1937, making it much more clear what the sign is about.  Albuquerque Airport needs this signage!

 

