Greetings from Seward, Alaska


Seward, Alaska

The beautiful aerial photo of Seward, Alaska was taken by Ginger Irvine and shared by  Kayak Adventures Worldwide.

I’m Valarie and I currently live in Seward, Alaska with my family, which is located in the Resurrection Bay. I live at the base of Mt. Marathon, which features a unique mountain race every Fourth of July that my boys participate in. I am Inupiaq, one of the many Alaska Native peoples and Seward is the furthest south I’ve ever lived. Check out my favorite local photographer’s website to view his fantastic Alaskan photos.

I have a BA in Communication & Psychology from the University of Alaska and I’ve worked in an elementary school library since 2006, though my interests are much broader. My focus in the SJSU SLIS program is emerging technology and management and I am interested in how libraries contribute to community development through engagement, and integrated library, archive and museums.

I will be attending ATALM (Association of Tribal Archive, Libraries, and Museums) in Albuquerque, NM next week and will present on recruiting indigenous librarians and will do a poster on a web project I’ve been working on for the Alaska Library Association (AkLA) and am in the process of launching. It is also based on WordPress and BuddyPress as our class site is. Problem-solving seems to be one of the things I do best and I’m looking forward to applying the concepts I learn here on the website I built as well as many other projects and our own school library space and site.

I’m fairly active in library organizations, including our own SJSU SLISConnect, your student and alumni association of which you are all automatically members of. SLISConnect is newly re-organized and we are working on many wonderful projects to bring you opportunities to participate in both face-to-face and virtual events. You may stay informed about our activities through our blog (we’re expecting ux improvements on it soon!) and on our Facebook page and group. We also welcome submissions by students and alumni on LIS related topics on all three…hint, hint. =)

I look forward to learning  about library user experience with all of you this semester!

Valarie Kingsland
about.me/vkingsland

