school library messages


school library signs and posters

school library signs and posters collage made with photocollage.net

Since our User Experience module, I took the opportunity to take a fresh look at the signs and posters we had up around our school library.  The image above is a fair sample of them.  I was relieved that none warranted immediate removal, but I did feel that a more personal touch could be added.  Signage has a tendency to become “unseen” after some time, so fresh messages are also important.

The messages we send to our library customers can be subtle; with signage, in our correspondence, and use of physical space.  Children are especially vulnerable to these messages because they are absorbing knowledge about how the world works through their experiences which shape their future behavior, expectations and interactions.  I’ve been trying to see the “library” brand and their experience in our school library through their eyes.  Of course there is a list of improvements that can be made, some easier and cheaper to implement than others.  Fortunately, we have been progressing in the right direction.

Yet, sometimes the obvious shames me…such as when I asked if a student was ready to check out and he exclaimed excitedly, “We can check out magazines?!”  I felt bad as I told him, “No.”  As he walked away disappointed, I asked myself “Why don’t we check out magazines?”  This led me to the conclusion that we should absolutely check out magazines if the students want to check them out, and any objection could be countered with a solution.  My co-worker agreed and amazingly enough a stand became available that would work perfectly for our new service.  We received permission to order a set of very nice, brightly colored, magazine covers, a policy was fashioned and voila, we are checking out magazines!  In fact it’s a challenge to get them back to change out the old issues.

children's magazines for circulation

children’s magazines for circulation

 

