fabulous find of the week


“Rather than thinking of our users as remote, we should instead recognize that it is we who are remote from our users.” –Anne Lipow

I came across this fabulous quote in an email from Samantha Hines on a listserv and it stopped me in my tracks.  I needed to know more about where this quote came from.  Upon investigation, I traced it to:

Lipow, Anne G. “’In Your Face’ Reference Service,” Library Journal 124(13) (August 1999), p. 51.

It turns out Hines wrote a chapter titled “Libraries and Distant Users: An Evolving Relationship” (pdf) published in 2008 in the book “Technology in Libraries: Essays in Honor of Anne Grodzins Lipow” (pdf), which are available at no cost.

Since many examples of participatory services are in public libraries, I was wondering how the academic library community was approaching the participatory model.  I am looking forward to reading about it.  What an unexpected and serendipitous find!

 

BTW, it appears that Hines is working on a book project titled:  “Revolutionizing the Development of Library and Information Professionals: Planning for the Future.”  It is an exciting time to be in the library and information profession!

 

