lesson 7: auto & small engine repair


7a:  Auto Repair Reference Center via the Digital Pipeline

This video provides an overview of the four different sections:
1. Find Your Vehicle
2. AutoIQ
3. Care & Repair Tips
4. Troubleshooting Tips

Oh dear, I am not a car buff, at all.  All I care about is that my car gets decent gas mileage, is safe and has a good reliability record.  But in the interst of fun, the car I chose to look up from the article, The 50 Most Famous Cars Of All Time, was a 1961 Ferrari 250 GT Spyder California from Ferris Bueller’s Day Off movie, because it reminded me of a high school classmate who crashed his father’s Corvette when he took it out without permission.  Yowza!

1.  But, they didn’t have it… so; I used the Find Your Vehicle section of the Auto Repair Reference Center to look up my own vehicle, a 2002 Toyota Sienna.  My search returned Repair Info, Bulletins for service and recall, Diagrams for electrical wiring, Maintenance Intervals, Specifications, Labor Times, Diagnostic Information for DIYer Diagnostics and ODBII codes, and Service Info Type-General.

2.  Under the Bulletins for service and recall, there turned out to be quite a few, but I wasn’t sure if there were multiple tags for an entry.  If not, then there were 67 entries!  Unfortunately, there was no way to limit the list to just the recalled information from the service updates.  I am aware of the major ones because I received notification from the auto company, but none were major.  According to the Maintenance Intervals section, no service is needed for another 10,000 miles other than my regular oil and tire rotation, which I time with my seasonal tire changes anyhow.

The information in this database is very useful and I’ll encourage my family and friends to use it, especially when I hear them complain about car problems.  I also really liked the AutoIQ and plan on having my 14 year old hopeful take a look at it.

7b:  EBSCO’s Small Engine Repair Reference Center (SERRC) via the Digital Pipeline

SERRC contains the full set of small engine repair manuals from Clymer (http://www.clymer.com/). These manuals contain thousands of accurate and concise step-by-step maintenance and repair instructions for hundreds of small engine machines and their supporting components.

The SERRC homepage provides direct links to eight categories:
ATV
Generators & Other Small Engines
Marine/Boat Motors
Motorcycles
Outdoor Power Equipment- (Chain Saws, Lawn Mowers, Rotary Tillers, Snowthrowers, String Trimmers and Blowers)
Personal Water Craft
Snowmobiles
Tractors

Watch these two videos for a quick overview, including browse, advanced search, view results, save and print features.

EBSCO:  http://youtu.be/X2MB3omFDmc (3 minutes)
Summerlovinlibrary:  http://youtu.be/857pjJA2420 (4 Minutes)

