lesson 6: mango languages


Mango Languages via the Digital Pipeline under the Education category and is an online language-learning system that can help you learn 38 foreign languages for English speakers and 15 English courses for foreign language speakers.

“Mango uses real-life situations and actual conversations to more effectively teach a new language. By listening to and repeating after material designed from native conversations, you’ll not only learn the individual words and phrases, you’ll know how they’re used in practical situations and conversations. You’ll learn more than grammar, vocabulary and conjugation, you’ll learn how to communicate.”

Favorite features:

I love their web design!  Interesting enough, I’m designing a multi-page website that will look something like it for my web design final project.  While researching best web designs I read an article that suggested that using paper gives the page a more personable and friendly feel because we traditionally identify with information written on paper.  It’s simple and attractive.

I like the brief facts on the left column and the translation tool is very nice.  I’ve actually had to translate some text from a website to find out what it said in English.  I don’t even remember what tool I used, but I think it was online.

I started the basic Spanish lesson and found it to be fairly simple to follow.  I really liked the cultural references they included in their lessons.  They also made it very easy to resume the lessons and the dashboard has a nice summary of what has been completed.  Buenas noches!

