Lesson 4b: additional education databases


The Digital Pipeline Education Category contains links to these 3 databases:  Advance searches for “Technology Education” and “Alaska” were made for each step

  1. Teacher Reference Center:  There were 14 articles about “Technology Education” and “Alaska.”  APA citation from a full text article (one of three) published after 2008:  Gordon, D. (2011). REMOTE LEARNING: TECHNOLOGY IN RURAL SCHOOLS. The Journal, 38(9), 18-24.
  2. ERIC:  There were 81 articles about “Technology Education” and “Alaska.”  Limiting it to full text and published after 2008 yielded 4 results.  APA citation from a full text article:  Doblar, D. (2009). Ten Schools and School Districts to Get Excited About. Educational Horizons, 87(2), 116-127.
  3. Professional Development:  There were 18 articles about “Technology Education” and “Alaska.”  Limiting it to full text and published after 2008 yielded 4 results.  This search had more overlap with the other two searches, but ERIC seems to have the most, but the search subject was education, so that is not surprising.
  4. All Three Databases:  There were 100 articles about “Technology Education” and “Alaska.”  Limiting it to full text and published after 2008 yielded 8 results.

As a graduate student, I always search all the databases I feel might have relevant information.  If I’m not sure, I’ll search them all, even though it takes a bit longer.  I find it is important to take advantage of the advance search options so that I retrieve the most relevant results.  The only time I don’t search multiple databases is if I know exactly where I’m going to find what I’m looking for.  One thing I don’t like about EBSCO is the citation feature.  My university requires APA 6th and that option isn’t available on EBSCO (it is on WorldCat, though!), so I use RefWorks to organize my sources and build my citations.  It works pretty well, but I always check them and catch a few that need to be fixed.

